Show me the money

I read this rather interesting blog post from Terra Nova, followed by the Playnomics report on engagement and monetization. Its an interesting read, in particular the information about monetization. First things first – who spent over $7k on a game in one quarter of one year?

Do I monetize?
Yes and No.

WoW has a subscription only, though I have made additional purchases, but I do monetize in both SWTOR and GW2. I pay the subscription for SWTOR and I buy from the gem store in GW2 (where I limit my monthly purchase to the cost of a subscription). I also have other free-to-play games on my PC which I do not monetize. Examples are League of Legends, Neverwinter and Rift. I don’t monetize these because I don’t play them very often. I don’t have the time to get good at League of Legends games, the Neverwinter control system cripples me and I haven’t had a chance to give Rift a real go yet.

What the Playnomics report does not cover is this – is there a link between engagement and monetization? Are the players who monetize also the players who play the most? Do the players who spend nothing come back to the game? I am unlikely to monetize in a game until I have a max level character. I need to have developed a commitment to a game in order to monetize. This is why, for all the criticism, the SWTOR free-to-play model has its positive points. By giving you the chance to level for free, it promotes that engagement at no cost. For those who drop out along the way, they likely never feel the need to monetize. For those who make it to the end, they will likely want to enhance their experience once they get there.

This suggests the answer to the question posted by Edward Castranova is yes, the players who monetize for should be listened to more, as they are the ones playing. However, I don’t feel that it’s a case of the more you spend, the more say you get. Rather, if you engage enough to monetize, it is in the game’s interest to keep you there. After all, there are a lot more of those little players than the whales and if you do base your game on the whales and they leave, you don’t want to have isolated your other sources of income.

I’ve no evidence for this – its based on my personal experience and opinion. So what about other players? Do you monetize? If so, when? Do you feel you should have more of a say?

One thought on “Show me the money

Add yours

  1. Hello there, needed to offer you a brief heads up and help you find out that several photographs aren’t
    properly showing correctly on your internet site.

    I don’t know the actual reason why however I think you’ll
    find it’s a linking situation. I have additionally tried
    this in two alternative browsers and both still deliver the identical outcome.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

