Finding the right guild for you: approaches to WoW

I got the following comment from Warrior Warcraft on the post I made about Embracing Changing Rosters.  I started writing a response and then thought this was really a whole post.  Its definitely a related issue.

Changing rosters is also a little bit like the personalities of server/realms too. Sometimes you have WoW realms that are full of jerks that think they deserve special treatment just because they are there, and others you find with an enormous amount of high skill players or a vast number of newbies. Neither are really good for the other.

I suppose this is all pretty much like the real world though. At work you constantly deal with the inept whom see to make fast advancement and exude with arrogance and then you have the hard worker with their head down. You have the slackers, the loud mouths and the know-it-alls mixed in with the skilled and the introverts. I guess that is what makes life uniques and sometimes challenging to your sanity!

What does WoW mean to you?
At some point in WoW, in particular if you start raiding, you need to think about what WoW means to you and what you will and won’t accept in order to meet goals.  This will help you find the right guild for you and be happy in that guild.  I’m going to approach this mainly from a raiding PoV although I expect team PvP has similar issues.  Start by answering three main questions:

  • What do you want to achieve in WoW?
  • What are you able to give in order to reach those goals?
  • What are you willing to accept in order to reach those goals?

Now I would give the following answers:

  • I would like to clear all raid content quickly and easily and get the meta achievements.
  • I can only raid after my daughter has gone to bed.  I cannot raid more than 3/4 nights a week.  I also need to sleep.
  • I want to raid only with people I like and who are skilled raiders.

Now, those answers are completely unrealistic in combination.  There may be a few very rare guilds that can give you all of those things, but its highly unlikely.  So now to the compromise parts.

  • I am willing to accept I won’t clear all the raid content quickly and easily and that I might have to get meta’s once the tier of raiding is out of date.  I am in no rush to complete content.  I don’t really like Hard Modes enough to slave away on them at the expense of other things.  I do really want the achievements still.
  • I can’t compromise here.  Its too important.
  • I would rather raid and have fun than progress quickly.  I am willing to accept working with newer raiders or less skilled raiders in order to make improvements.  I don’t expect more from other people than I am able to give myself.

Those conclusions took time to come to.  I spent a lot of time just accepting things I didn’t like before I realised this was ruining the game for me.  Answering those questions realistically is hard but if you can do it then that should lead you to the right raiding guild for you.

Fun with friends vs Competitive sport
I think these are the two main ways you can approach WoW.  I use the first approach.  I want to enjoy the game with friends and the people I play with are what the game is about for me.  If I am unhappy with them, I am unhappy with the game.  In this case you should find a guild where you are happy and make those new friends.

You could also choose to approach WoW as a competitive sport.  In this case the goals are more important than the experience.  You want to be the best you can be, given the limitations of what you can give.  In this case you should find a guild that has the best progress you can get for your own skill/contribution.  You can’t expect to be doing world firsts if you stand in fire all the time or only raid once a week, so you need to be honest with yourself.  But you should be able to find a happy fit.

Either way, you have to be prepared to be realistic and make compromises.  Neither type of raiding guild wants to raid with people who can’t be realistic.  The progress guilds don’t want to carry you and the friendly guilds don’t want to change the way they raid to suit you.  The best guilds are comfortable in who they are.

WoW is not a job
WoW is a sport, a game, a hobby, a social club, a drink with friends in a worldwide bar.  WoW is never a job.  I enjoy my job.  But if I didn’t need to work to live, I wouldn’t.  You accept when you go to work every day there will be aspects of your job you don’t like just as Warcraft Warrior says above.  Thats the compromise you make in order to make money to live.  Like WoW, you have to decide what level of compromise you are willing to make for what reward.  How many hours will you work for what pay?  How much enjoyment do you expect to make your job tolerable before you move on?  But ultimately you accept the compromises of a job because you must have a job.  You could easily stop playing WoW.  Or stop raiding.  You can opt out.

Whatever your approach to WoW you should be getting enjoyment from what you do in the game.  If you are not then you’re doing it wrong.  WoW is an optional extra in your life.  Answer the questions above and identify your compromises and you should be able to find that enjoyment.  If you can’t then WoW will feel like a chore.

2 thoughts on “Finding the right guild for you: approaches to WoW

  1. Rarely do I come across such interesting, informative and just plain fun reading about various WoW topics. Your site is certainly the exception! In the midst of making a guild change – moving from one to forming another – I find the information in this post something that every GM should consider as part of any guild application. At a minimum, adding to one’s guild website, a must. It calls upon each GM to consider their goals and how those will be met and by whom and in what capacity. Once determined and posted, it will allow prospective guildies to know if the goals of both match. When the mission or goals change, a redetermination and reposting of that should keep everyone on track or allow for members to move on to other things, more in line with their expected gaming experience.
    Thank you for this and the many other articles posted on this site!

Leave a Reply

