Fear not brave ret paladins, there is hope

First the QQ version:

OMG Blizz you have destroyed my class WTF!!!!  If I wanted a rogue I would’ve played a rogue FFS.  Never mind that you have had all these changes available for comment for months, or that I can still do all of the cool stuff paladins could always do.  I liked being OP and just rolling my face on the keyboard and now you’ve gone and RUINED it all and I don’t top the DPS meters and I’m going to QUIT because you really need whiney cry babies like me to keep your business afloat and I pay $15 a month FFS and none of the other thousands of people who are perfectly happy with the idea of making Ret more interesting count.

Now you can just skip reading the class forums for a while.  Thats basically a summary of the content you’ll find.

My lack of excitement about the ret changes
I’m not that excited by Holy Power as a concept.  I’d have liked something a bit more original. Something that wasn’t ‘what if we add combo points but give them a cool graphic like DKs have’?  But ultimately there are only so many dps mechanics and it does kinda fit.  I also think the implementation has some wobbles in it to do with delays, but I don’t worry about things like that because Blizzard always irons them out.  Once it got to a later hour and the server emptied a bit, I was finding the new mechanic usable again.  During periods of high lag …. its problematic.

But wait.  Theres a further problem.  The low dps.  I wasn’t sure last night if that was just me and my lag/confusion/distraction (seriously, I want to play a Shadow Priest right now – not because of their imba dps but because you get an army of shadow minions!!!).  I had heard it from reliable sources though (i.e. not the forum QQ) so I was a bit worried.

Good news for ret palas at last
Then this morning I woke to a ray of sunshine:

Rather than try and address multiple threads, I’m just going to plop our current thoughts in this one post. Please excuse the brevity.

1) We think Fury, Arms, Feral cat and Retribution dps is too low and we will be buffing them.

2) We think mage dps is too high, especially Fire, and will be nerfing it.

3) We think Shadow priest dps is too high, but that’s largely a result of Shadow Word: Death spam, which is tough on healers. We’ll be fixing that.

4) We think Destro warlock dps is too high, but that’s largely a result of Searing Pain spam, which is tough on tanks. We’ll be fixing that.

There was a bit more to the post but basically if you find your dps has suddenly dropped even when you are hitting everything right, then thats because its actually dropped!

I’m not at all suprised by the Fire Mage news.  The Shadow Priest news is actually ok – I was worried they’d nerf the army of shadowy minions.  This talent should be protected at all costs!!!!

On a side note about shadow priests
I’m sure the novelty will wear off eventually.  And I have been officially stamped Worlds Worst Shadow Priest.  And we will get a little minion of our own.  I’ll keep telling myself that as Tindal marches his army of dwarves into battle…

2 thoughts on “Fear not brave ret paladins, there is hope

  1. Having worked tirelessly on my gear, gems, rotation, etc, since the patch, and even after the Hammer of Hotfixing, I still must agree with the QQ’ers. I feel like my wonderful freeing Paladin experience has become a game of staring at a counter the entire time. I don’t think it would be as bad if the rotation really was

    CS, other, CS, other, CS, Finisher

    and sometimes the finisher came earlier. The problem is that from a button/attention perspective, I’m ALSO trying to figure out what “other” should be – which is based on another resource (mana, thus prioritize judgement), another proc (art of war for exorcism), if I have to Holy Wrath (if it’s off of it’s 15s cooldown) or maybe Consecrate (if I can afford to, and it’s off cooldown) or perhaps… oh look, Hand of Light procced! Time to do that too!

    I hate to call it ‘complicated’ and whine, but it is. I think it could be a lot nicer if ‘other’ had one, and only one, goal – AoW/Exorcism, for example, or Judgement. Barring that, I wish they’d increase the proc rate on AoW/Exorcism again, and drop the cooldown on judgement so that I don’t need to worry about Holy Wrath and Consecrate as fillers. That at least would be nice. Heck, given the low DPS of judgement, I say remove the cooldown, and make it

    CS, Exo (if available)-Judge if not, CS, Exo (if available)-Judge if Not, Finisher

    where things could move up a bit if Hand of Light or Divine HolyPowerRNG procced.

    That wouldn’t make my head hurt as much, and would let me play the game, instead of playing the stupid holy power counter.

    1. I feel your pain. I’m not entirely comfortable with the new ret pala myself yet. Now when Wrath came out I swore blind I was going to stick with my Holy Priest. Then a) realised there were about 0 changes to Holy gameplay and I was bored as hell, and b) tried melee dps and thought ‘OMG this is fun’.

      I’ve been 100% saying I will stick to my ret pala. But even I don’t believe me!

Leave a Reply

