WoW in 2009

What did you do in the World of Warcraft in 2009 that you’d never done before?
Well probably my biggest thing was becoming a ret paladin.  Before 2009, I was a holy priest.  For me, this has definitely made the game more fun.  I was bored of my priest, I didn’t like the way holy was going (still don’t – my priest is now Disc and loving it) and I needed a change.  Not only is ret more fun, but I am far, far better at it than I was as a priest.  I know where every single part of my utility is and I think I used it all on our Faction Champions 10 hard mode kill last night. It suits my move with the mouse, use abilities with the keyboard style very well.

What was your favorite new place that you visited?
This is a tough one.  If this was the best place in Wrath, I would say Dragonblight.  I just love the look of the zone, especially the snowy parts around Stars Rest.  The music is great there too.  But strictly speaking I went there in 2008.  So for 2009 I would have to say ICC.  Its like Ulduar, with better lore.

What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
I would like to get a raid achievement mount.  Not going to happen in 2009 now, but lets hope 2010 sees one coming my way.  If nothing else I guess I’ll get the Black Drake from OS3D but in particular, I want a Frost Wyrm.  When that big dragon first appeared on our login screens I thought it was the coolest thing ever.  I want one of those for myself.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Helping to set up Dreamstate and get it to 4/5 in TotGC in 3 weeks.  This has just been awesome.  I enjoy every kill we’ve managed because we, as a group, have really earned it.  In no way can I take the credit for this, but I have put some work into getting things running and so a little piece of this is an achievement for me.  Hoping for big things in the new year.  Once we all sober up again.

What was your biggest failure?
Not leaving a guild that made me miserable long before we finally parted ways.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
I love the new LFG system.  I have three alts and trying to farm badges on them was a nightmare.  In particular, trying to farm them on Arianrhodd who isn’t in the kind of guild that supports farming.  Now she is seeing a real opportunity to get gear and see other content.  And I am getting the challenge of learning how to play her.

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Trying to please people who just can’t be pleased.  The loot whores and whiners of this world.  Whatever I gave was never enough.  Actually, its taken me over a year to learn that lesson.  Glad I have.

What was your favorite WoW blog or podcast?
Damn this is a hard question.  I fail at picking my absolute favourite.  So I’m going to mention several here.

World of Matticus and World of Snarkcraft – these got me reading blogs in the first place and though I don’t play a priest any more, I still read and enjoy these.

The Suicidal Zebra – though he has stopped posting for a while, this is a great blog and the guy who linked my blog the first time, for which I am eternally grateful.  This, along with Honor’s Code and Divine Plea, make up my trinity of best pala blogs.

Big Bear Butt and The Pink Pigtail Inn – Intelligent blogs written by smart people which constantly offer me insight into the game.

I Like Bubbles, Death Goddess and Aspect of the Hare – fun blogs, which I always look forward to reading.

And I’m sure there are other wonderful blogs I am completely forgetting!  Morrighan fails at decisive answers.

Tell us a valuable WoW lesson you learned in 2009.
To value your friends more than anything else in this game.  Some people might see that as selfish or clannish.  But my friends in this game are what make it fun.  They are why I play.  And especially I want to say a huge thank you to those that formed Dreamstate and included me within it.  You’ve made me a very happy ret paladin.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

