Standing down as an officer

I made a very hard decision this week and stood down as an officer in my guild. Why? So I could spend more time with all you lovely readers! At least in part. I enjoy writing this blog and I would like to have more time to spend on it.

What you give as an officer
Time. Being an officer takes a lot of time. Time in which you could be playing the game and doing other things. The game has vast amounts of content I would like to do. I want to get more achievements. I want to improve my alts and do some things with them.

However, its hard to do achievements when there are constant demands on you. People want to talk to you about things, ask you to do things for them. You also get asked to arrange things, to lead raids for other people, regardless of what you want to do. I found this last problem in particular was gaining a lot of momentum.

Also, people don’t like to hear no. If I’m in a heroic, they can’t understand why I can’t instantly relog and craft an item for them. If I would rather not lead a pug raid, I get told ‘oh but its easy’. Which always made me want to say back ‘if its so easy, lead it yourself’. But as an officer, no matter what happens, you have to remain polite and calm. I was finding that increasingly hard to do.

What you get back
There are two main features of this – job satisfaction and a sense of control. I enjoy making the guild work for others. I would lead raids I didn’t always want to do, knowing that it was for others. I used to lead some Friend/Alt raids, until the demands of progress raiding took over and meant I didn’t have time any more. Seeing the guild progress and knowing you contributed to that is very satisfying.

Also, I got to help try and shape the guild. I could object to things I didn’t like and try and make the guild a good place to be.

Balance
There comes a time, however, when what you get back is no longer compensating for what you give up. Real life has thrown me a few curve balls and I find I just don’t have the patience for the drama any more. I just can’t find the will to talk down that person who will just quit the guild if they don’t get a raid spot. It’s just a game, and other people deserve that spot too. I can’t find the energy to argue with yet another player who can’t understand that other peoples play times and aims don’t coincide with theirs.

It reached the point where I felt like I was being treated more like an NPC than a human being. That’s the time to quit.  I know that my RL frustrations were affecting my level of tolerance in the game, but still a bit of empathy goes a long way.

That’s not the whole story of course. But as an Officer, there are things I just won’t talk about publicly. Another plus is that I don’t have to feel like that now. Its my blog after all. I’m not an official representative of FH any more.

The moral of the story: don’t take your officers for granted.

Brave new (blogging world)
I have a post about the ret pala changes in 3.3 sitting on my laptop just waiting for a chance to be uploaded! And a post about enchants, enhancements and professions that should go up soon too.

What else would you like me to write about here? I know I have some readers (WordPress tells me I do anyway). What do you want to see here?

Leave a Reply

